Roald Dahl

1916 – 1990


Who was Roald Dahl?

Roald Dahl was a Welsh author and scriptwriter, and the most popular writer of pupil's books. He was raised by his Norwegian mother, who took him on annual trips to Norway, where she told him the stories of witches present in the dark geographical region. Dahl was determinant by the stories and returned to many of the themes in his children's books. His mother also upbrings a passion in the young Dahl for reading and literature.


Dahl's first published work, inspired by a meeting with C. S. Forester, was "A Piece of Cake", on 1 August 1942. The story, about his wartime events, was bought by The Saturday Evening Post for the US $1,000 and published under the title "Shot Down Over Libya". Today, many best essay writing service adopts his writing plotting styles which is the reason for their popularity.

Here is the list of his 19 novels:

1. The Gremlins -1943

2. Sometime Never: A Fable for Supermen -1948

3. James and the Giant Peach -1961

4. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory -1964

5. The Magic Finger -1966

6. Fantastic Mr. Fox -1970

7. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator -1972

8. Danny, the Champion of the World -1975

9. The Enormous Crocodile -1978

10. My Uncle Oswald -1979

11. The Twits -1980

12. George's Marvellous Medicine -1981

13. The BFG -1982

14. The Witches -1983

15. The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me -1985

16. Matilda -1988

17. Esio Trot -1990

18. The Vicar of Nibbleswicke -1991

19. The Minpins -1991

We need you!

Help us build the largest biographies collection on the web!

Sep 13, 1916
Cardiff, UK
Nov 23, 1990
Oxford, UK

Submitted by SarahMcGlashan
on September 19, 2019

Modified by SarahMcGlashan
on April 02, 2022


Use the citation below to add to a bibliography:


"Roald Dahl." STANDS4 LLC, 2022. Web. 29 May 2022. <>.

Discuss this Roald Dahl biography with the community: