Zack Rogow

Male, Person

1952 –


Who is Zack Rogow?

Zack Rogow is a poet, playwright, translator, and critic. He was born in New York City, and currently resides in San Francisco, U.S.A.

Rogow is the author of seven books of poetry, including My Mother and the Ceiling Dancers, published by Kattywompus Press, and The Number Before Infinity, published by Scarlet Tanager Books. His translations from the French include works by George Sand, André Breton, Colette, and Marcel Pagnol. His co translation of Earthlight by André Breton received the 1994 PEN/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation Prize. His sequence of short poems, "Airplane Tanka" was a cowinner of the 2006 Tanka Splendor Award.

The anthologies that Rogow has edited include The Face of Poetry, a selection of work by contemporary U.S. poets with photos of the writers by Margaretta K. Mitchell, published by University of California Press. He also edited two volumes of the journal TWO LINES.

He has written two plays in a series about contemporary world poets. The first two plays concern the life and work of Léopold Sédar Senghor and Nazim Hikmet.

Rogow cofounded the Lunch Poems Reading Series at University of California, Berkeley with Professor Robert Hass and is the poetry editor of Catamaran Literary Reader.

We need you!

Help us build the largest biographies collection on the web!


on July 23, 2013


Use the citation below to add to a bibliography:


"Zack Rogow." STANDS4 LLC, 2021. Web. 27 Nov. 2021. <>.

Discuss this Zack Rogow biography with the community: