E. Allen Emerson

Award Winner


Who is E. Allen Emerson?

Ernest Allen Emerson is a computer scientist and endowed professor at the University of Texas, Austin, USA.

He won the 2007 A.M. Turing Award along with Edmund M. Clarke and Joseph Sifakis for their pioneering work on Model checking. He is also the recipient of the 1998 ACM Paris Kanellakis Award Theory and Practice Award for Symbolic Model Checking.

He received his BSc degree in mathematics from the University of Texas, Austin in 1976 and his PhD degree in applied mathematics at Harvard University in 1981.

Working with Edmund M. Clarke in the 1980s, he invented computation tree logic.

Emerson is a member of the ACM.

We need you!

Help us build the largest biographies collection on the web!

Also known as
  • Ernest Allen Emerson
  • Doctorate, Harvard University
    Applied mathematics
    ( - 1981)
  • Bachelor's degree, University of Texas at Austin
    ( - 1976)
  • University of Texas at Austin

on July 23, 2013


Use the citation below to add to a bibliography:


"E. Allen Emerson." Biographies.net. STANDS4 LLC, 2022. Web. 27 Jan. 2022. <https://www.biographies.net/people/en/e_allen_emerson>.

Discuss this E. Allen Emerson biography with the community:


    Browse Biographies.net