Lucy Maud Montgomery

Novelist, Author

1874 – 1942


Who was Lucy Maud Montgomery?

Lucy Maud Montgomery OBE, called "Maud" by family and friends and publicly known as L. M. Montgomery, was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning with Anne of Green Gables, published in 1908. Anne of Green Gables was an immediate success. The central character, Anne, an orphaned girl, made Montgomery famous in her lifetime and gave her an international following. The first novel was followed by a series of sequels with Anne as the central character. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays. Most of the novels were set on Prince Edward Island, Canada, and places in the Canadian province became literary landmarks. She was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1935.

Montgomery's work, diaries and letters have been read and studied by scholars and readers worldwide.


Use the citation below to add to a bibliography:


"Lucy Maud Montgomery." STANDS4 LLC, 2019. Web. 21 Jul 2019. <>.

Discuss this Lucy Maud Montgomery biography with the community:

We need you!

Help us build the largest biographies collection on the web!

Nov 30, 1874
New London, Prince Edward Island
Also known as
  • Lucy M Montgomery
  • L. M. Montgomery
  • L.M. Montgomery
  • Maud Montgomery
  • Maud
  • Canada
  • Dalhousie University
  • Prince of Wales College
Lived in
  • Toronto
Apr 24, 1942

Our awesome collection of

Promoted Bios