Rafael Aceves y Lozano

Opera, Composer

1837 – 1876


Who was Rafael Aceves y Lozano?

Rafael Aceves y Lozano was a Spanish composer. He studied at the Madrid Conservatory, earning a gold medal in 1863. He was especially known for his sacred music compositions of which his Stabat Mater is the best known.

Together with a colleague composer, Llanos, he composed the opera Puñal El of misericordia in 1869, with which he was again recognized with a medal. He went on to compose a number of zarzuela, including La bola negra, Sensitiva, a collaborative composition, El trono de Escocia, with Manuel Fernández Caballero, and El Testamento Azul with Francisco Asenjo Barbieri. He also wrote the opera El manco de Lepanto - Episodio histórico en un acto y en verso in homage to Cervantes which tells the story of the writer's captivity and release in Argel. He also composed a parody of Cristóbal Oudrid's El molinero of Subiza entitled El carbonero of Subiza.

We need you!

Help us build the largest biographies collection on the web!

Mar 20, 1837
Feb 21, 1876

on July 23, 2013


Use the citation below to add to a bibliography:


"Rafael Aceves y Lozano." Biographies.net. STANDS4 LLC, 2023. Web. 27 Sep. 2023. <https://www.biographies.net/people/en/rafael_aceves_y_lozano>.

Discuss this Rafael Aceves y Lozano biography with the community:


    Our awesome collection of

    Promoted Bios


    Browse Biographies.net